Michael C. Keith  

is the author / coauthor of 30 book volumes and dozens of articles on the subject of radio and broadcast studies. His titles in this area include Radio Cultures: The Sound Medium in American Life, Sounds of Change: FM Broadcasting in America (with Christopher Sterling), Sounds in the Dark: All Night Radio in American Life, Voices in the Purple Haze: Underground Radio in the Sixties, Waves of Rancor: Tuning in the Radical Right (with Robert Hilliard), The Broadcast Century and Beyond (With Robert Hilliard), The Radio Station (now Keith's Radio Station)Radio Programming: Consultancy and Formatics, and Talking Radio: An Oral History of American Radio in the Television Age, among others.

In addition to his non-fiction titles, Keith has published a dozen creative works, including an acclaimed memoir––The Next Better Place––a young adult novel––Life is Falling Sideways––and 10 short story collections––most recently The Near Enough. His fiction has been nominated for several awards, among them the Pen/O.Henry Award and the Pushcart Prize. He was a finalist for the International Book Award in the "Fiction Vision" category and the National Indie Excellence Award for the short fiction anthology. He is the recipient of several accolades in his academic field, including the International Radio and Television Society’s Frank Stanton Award and the Broadcast Education Association’s Lifetime Achievement in Scholarship Award. Keith serves on the board of the Newton Writers and Publishing Center. 

Dr. Keith was the first chair of the Broadcast Education Association's Radio Division and is a professor in the Communication Department at Boston College. He is the former chair of education at the Museum of Broadcast Communication and serves on the executive advisory board of the University of Rhode Island’s Harrington School of Communication and Media, which honored him with its first Achievement Award in the Humanities.

Bits, Specks, Crumbs, Flecks

Have you wondered what Dwarves dance about in the moonlight? What of returning to the Golden Years of the 1950's? Do you enjoy stories of home towns seen through a whimsical, humorous lens? Want to know why the elderly revolted?

Author Michael C. Keith brings you with him back to the 50's, on magical tours through parking lots, swerving around tales of spontaneous human combustion, through open windows and around the block a few times in Bits, Specks, Crumbs, Flecks, Vraeyda Literary's newest Short Story Collection. 

Filled with Keith's clever and witty writing style, the short fiction in Bits, Specks, Crumbs, Flecks makes you laugh and think about the wonderful world we call home. And if you happen to find out what tastes like chicken in the process, that's a fantastic bonus. 

Subscribe to be In the Know

* indicates required
Email Format